All The Things I could Do

How far in the past does something need to be for it to not matter anymore?

For example, there are some who think that the descendants of slaves should be given money because of what happened to their forebears.

Okay, then.

I am descended from slaves.

‘My people’ were enslaved under the Roman occupation of Britain, and were so again post-1066 under the Normans.

During the years 1600 to 1800 ‘my people’ were kidnapped by Muslim pirates and sold into slavery across the Middle East and North Africa. This was such a huge problem that Thomas Jefferson had to invent the US Marines to deal with the caliphate.

(We don’t get taught about this particular slave trade in British schools for some reason.)

That’s three examples from history where ‘my people’ were enslaved and do you know what – I feel pretty damn upset about it.

I feel like I need somebody to give me some money right now so I can use it to repair my hurt feelings.

Who do I sue?

Does anyone know a lawyer who would take on my case? I’m going to sue the Italian government for the Roman invasion, the French government for the Norman invasion, and the Turkish government for the Muslim pirates.

(I might yet have a pop at the Danish for the Vikings I’ll see what the lawyer thinks first.)

To repeat the question:

How far in the past does something need to be for it to not matter anymore?

subway footlong 11 inches

Leave a Reply

